Member News
AJS Facebook PageAJS Twitter Page

AJS Member News

AJS Member News is a forum for sharing the accomplishments of AJS Members.  News will be featured on the AJS homepage, with space for more information below.

Submission Guidelines

We welcome announcements about members' special accomplishments, such as book awards, national fellowships and scholarships, teaching awards, election to national/international academic societies, and new appointments and promotions. Unfortunately, we do not have space to post announcements about publications or conference presentations.

Share Your Accomplishments




Announcement Heading (e.g., Professor Marsha Rozenblit of the University of Maryland named president of the Association for Jewish Studies):

(Optional) Longer Announcement - up to 100 words.
You may also include links to press releases.



AJS Members in the News

Judit Bokser Liwerant named 2017 Marshall Sklare Award winner
Prof. Judit Bokser Liwerant (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México) was named the 2017 Marshall Sklare Award winner. The Marshall Sklare Award is given annually by the ASSJ to a senior scholar who has made a significant scholarly contribution to the social scientific study of Jewry, primarily through the publication of a body of research in books and articles or of published work related to public policy.
Posted on 5/16/17

Ranen Omer-Sherman and Eugene Avrutin named co-editors of the journal Shofar.
Posted on 4/13/17

Ethan Katz of the University of Cincinnati wins further honors for his book
Ethan Katz's book The Burdens of Brotherhood: Jews and Muslims from North Africa to France has received several honors in recent months. It is the winner of both the 2016 J. Russell Major Prize of the American Historical Association for the best book in English on French history and the 2016 American Library in Paris Book Award for the best English-language book on France or the French, and earned an honorable mention for the bi-annual Wylie Prize in French Cultural Studies. It was also just named a Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 2016.
Posted on 1/13/17