lecture program

Association for Jewish Studies Distinguished Lectureship Program:
Connecting You with Leading Scholars of Jewish Studies

The AJS Distinguished Lectureship Program connects you with distinguished lecturers in the field of Jewish studies. Enrich your next program with one of over 300 lectures, which cover the breadth of Jewish history, religion, politics, and culture.

Each scholar gives one lecture per year for the Lectureship Program and donates the lecture fee to the AJS. The lecture fee for most speakers is $1,200. Sponsors of a lecture provided by the AJS Distinguished Lectureship Program pay the lecture fee directly to AJS and cover the lecturer's travel and lodging expenses. The fee covers a 90-120 minute presentation, which includes a question and answer session. Any further requests made of the speaker (e.g. for class visits, other talks, etc.) should be covered by an additional honorarium paid directly by the host institution to the speaker and will be theirs to keep. The AJS is currently booking lectures for the 2014-15 academic year.

You can browse the lectures offered by the AJS Distinguished Lectureship Program by topic, title, lecturer, or the state or province where lecturers are located. Once you have selected a lecture, please contact Shira Moskovitz, Lectureship Program Manager to discuss arrangements. Please do not contact speakers directly; the AJS office will handle all arrangements with the speakers.

For more information on the AJS Distinguished Lectureship Program, please contact Shira Moskovitz at the AJS office.

Search for an AJS Distinguished Lecturer

AJS Distinguished Lecturers

Please see below for a list of AJS Distinguished Lecturers. Click on speaker name for full bios and lecture titles.

Joyce Antler
Brandeis University

Zachary M. Baker
Stanford University

Carol Bakhos

Murray Baumgarten
University of California, Santa Cruz

Yitzhak Berger
Hunter College of the City University of New York

Jay R. Berkovitz
University of Massachusetts Amherst

David J. Biale
University of California, Davis

Ra'anan Boustan
University of California, Los Angeles

Ross Brann
Cornell University

Marc Zvi Brettler
Brandeis University

Judah Cohen
Indiana University

Steven M. Cohen

Deborah Dash Moore
University of Michigan

Arnold Dashefsky
University of Connecticut at Storrs

Jonathan Decter
Brandeis University

Hasia Diner
New York University

David H. Ellenson

Todd M. Endelman
University of Michigan

David Engel
New York University

Steven Fine
Yeshiva University

Reuven Firestone

David M. Freidenreich
Colby College

Jane Gerber
CUNY Graduate Center

Robert Goldenberg
Stony Brook University, SUNY

Matt Goldish
Ohio State University

Atina Grossman
Cooper Union

Jeffrey S. Gurock
Yeshiva University

Rachel Havrelock
University of Illinois at Chicago

Christine E. Hayes
Yale University

Susannah Heschel
Dartmouth College

Anne Golomb Hoffman
Fordham University

Sara R. Horowitz
York University

Gershon D. Hundert
McGill University

Robin Judd
Ohio State University

Richard Kalmin
Jewish Theological Seminary

Ephraim Kanarfogel
Yeshiva University

Marion Kaplan
New York University

Debra Renee Kaufman
Northeastern University

Shaul Kelner
Vanderbilt University

David Kraemer
Jewish Theological Seminary

Jack Kugelmass
University of Florida

Hartley Lachter
Muhlenberg College

Berel Lang
Wesleyan University

Ruth Langer
Boston College

Laura S. Levitt
Temple University

James Loeffler
University of Virginia

Vivian Mann
Jewish Theological Seminary

Michael A. Meyer

Tony Michels
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Alan L. Mintz
Jewish Theological Seminary

Leslie Morris
University of Minnesota

David N. Myers
University of California, Los Angeles

Pamela S. Nadell
American University

Anita Norich
University of Michigan

David Novak
University of Toronto

Vanessa Ochs
University of Virginia

Derek J. Penslar
University of Toronto

Shachar Pinsker
University of Michigan

Antony Polonsky
Brandeis University

Riv-Ellen Prell
University of Minnesota

Marsha Rozenblit
University of Maryland

David R. Ruderman
University of Pennsylvania

Jonathan Sarna
Brandeis University

Leonard Saxe
Brandeis University

Robert M. Seltzer
Hunter College, CUNY

Jeffrey Shandler
Rutgers University

David Shneer
University of Colorado at Boulder

David Sorkin
CUNY Graduate Center

Sarah Abrevaya Stein
University of California, Los Angeles

Norman A. Stillman
University of Oklahoma

Michael D. Swartz
Ohio State University

Magda Teter
Wesleyan University

Francesca Trivellato
Yale University

Ilan Troen
Brandeis University

Jeffrey Veidlinger
University of Michigan

Beth S. Wenger
University of Pennsylvania

Carol Zemel
York University

Yael Zerubavel
Rutgers University

Wendy Zierler
HUC-JIR, New York

Steven J. Zipperstein
Stanford University

About AJS Lecture Fees

AJS lecture fee is $1,200. Speakers give one lecture per year on behalf of the Lectureship Program, and donate the lecture fee to the AJS. Host institutions will pay the set lecture fee directly to the AJS, in addition to covering all of the speaker’s travel and lodging expenses. All arrangements are to be made through the AJS office. Please contact Shira Moskovitz, Program Manager, to discuss arrangements.


To learn more about the AJS Distinguished Lectureship Program, or to schedule one of our speakers, please contact:

Shira Moskovitz
Program Manager
Association for Jewish Studies
15 West 16th Street
New York, NY 10011